KISS YOUR OWN BOOBOO…by Julie Bartkus

Do you know how kids fall down and need someone to kiss their booboos? It seems like the tears won’t stop and the pouts on their faces remain until they receive that magical kiss.

 Well, a few months ago I was visiting my niece, Ashley. Let me tell you she’s a personality rich 3-year old. I was sitting on the back deck with a few family members while the kids were playing in front of us, around us, and sometimes on top of us. You know what I mean, right?

 As they were playing, Ashley fell down and hurt her knee. I observed her from across the deck and noticed the corners of her mouth were beginning to veer down toward her chin. I thought for sure tears were coming with a frantic call for mom to kiss her knee and make it feel better.

 But to my surprise she quickly looked around, noticed mom was not close by, and then bent over to kiss her own booboo. She looked up with a smile on her face and then took off running to play with the other kids. It was as if she thought: Hmmm, do I wait for someone to kiss it and make it better or do I kiss it myself so I can get on with playing and having fun? Yes, I’ll kiss it myself! Why wait?

 I’ve reflected on this situation many times. Thinking about this little girl deciding to kiss her own booboo. Also thinking about how many times adults wait and wait and wait for someone to kiss their booboos. Yes, mostly their internal ones.

 Perhaps it’s the feeling of not be appreciated or valued. You think your efforts are worth gold but it seems nobody notices. Or perhaps it’s the staff member who you bend over backward for but your efforts are hardly recognized. Or maybe it’s the team member who spreads rumors about you.

 There’s one success strategy that I’ll share with you. It comes straight from a 3-year old child.

 Kiss your own booboo!

When you’re in a place where you think nobody appreciates you, appreciate yourself. On your way to work buy yourself your favorite flowers and proudly display them. Write yourself a thank you note for all the wonderful things you’ve done. Indulge in your favorite treat. Buy yourself something to celebrate. Bake yourself a cake. See one of your favorite movies in honor of yourself.

 Sometimes you have to decide that it’s not worth the wait for someone else to recognize you or for a co-worker to stop her hurtful behaviors. Sometimes you have to kiss it and get on with it!

 © 2012

Leave a Reply

